September 26th 2018 | University of Strathclyde, Technology & Innovation Centre

2017 event review


Digital Justice

Digital Justice 2017

Holyrood's Digital Justice 2017 conference brought together professionals from across the justice system and beyond to examine how digital technologies can best be implemented to improve outcomes and services for users and practitioners. 

These digital innovations are not without its challenges and those were examined in detail at the event. 

Themes covered on the day included:

  • New Technology and New Approaches in Policing - Policing 2026 Strategy
  • Personal Information in the Justice System 
  • Connected Networks for Criminal Justice
  • Driving the Digital Journey by Providing Customer Focused Digital Services
  • Digital Technology in Criminal Litigation
  • Electronic Monitoring and Justice

Keynote speakers included:

  • Willie Cowan, Deputy Director, Criminal Justice Division, Scottish Government
  • Martin Low, Head of ICT Service Delivery, Police Scotland
  • Sheena Urwin, Head of Criminal Justice, Durham Constabulary
  • Keith Dargie, Director of IT, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service
  • David Freeland, Senior Policy Officer, Information Commissioner's Office - Scotland
  • Danielle House & Rosanna White, Statisticians, Justice Data Lab, Ministry of Justice
  • Stuart Munro, Member of the Law Society of Scotland's Technology Committee, and Director, Livingstone Brown, Practice Area Head, Criminal Litigation & Inquiries
  • Dr Hannah Graham, Lecturer in Criminology in the Scottish Centre for Crime and Justice Research, Stirling University

Delegates from last year included:

  • Head of Access to Justice
  • Prisoner Records System Manager
  • Principal Inspector
  • Head of Programmes
  • Head of Electronic Records Unit
  • Director of IT
  • Planning, Performance & Communications Officer
  • Helpline Development Officer
  • Head of Strategy and Delivery Division
  • IT Manager
  • Procurator Fiscal Depute
  • Legal Services Manager
  • Contracts and Bid Coordinator

Thanks to our sponsors